Blog: A MSU Student’s Take on the College of Education

This was a blog post written for my JRN 400 class blog. It was published on February 23, 2012.

Blog: A MSU Student’s Take on the College of Education

By NICOLE LaCHANCE

The story I am working on deals with diversity among MSU department chairs and professors. I thought it would be interesting to look at a student’s view of diversity among fellow students and professors. I chose to ask Katherine Banerian, an elementary education major, because elementary education is traditionally a very female-dominated field. Below is a question and answer session with Banerian.

1. Would you describe your major as very gender diverse?

No. There are a very sparse number of men in my classes. But I think that the College of Ed is very open to having both genders.

2. About how many males are in your average class?

Usually none, one at the most.

3. How would you describe the gender dispersion of your professors?

I guess if I counted them there would be a little more females, but I have had quite a few male professors. It’s almost half and half.

4. Why do you think elementary education is such a female-dominated major?

In my personal experience talking to guys in and out of the college, they are worried about making enough money to support a family. I also think there are more girls that get along with kids.

5. What do you think can be done to get more males interested in the major?

I can’t think of anything the college could go. I don’t think there is anything keeping guys other than the things I already mentioned. We really enjoy having boys in our classes.

Leave a Reply

